FOK in Wallenstein Garden | Orchestral Suite from the Ballet "Chap-Book"

Wednesday 31 August 2022, 5.00 pm
Wallenstein Garden, Prague, CZ

Josef SUK: A Fairy Tale, Op. 16
Johannes BRAHMS: Academic Festival Overture in C minor Op. 80
Bedřich SMETANA: "The dream of love", aria from the opera The Bartered Bride
Bohuslav MARTINŮ: Orchestral Suite from the Ballet "Chap-Book", H 214
Film music: Once Upon a Time in the West, The Shop on Main Street, The Cremator, Goya's Ghosts

Prague Symphony Orchestra
Marko Ivanovič (conductor)
Jana Šrejma Kačírková (soprano)

Eight years ago, with the help of the Senate, the Prague Symphony Orchestra restarted the tradition of concerts in the Wallenstein Garden, started by conductor Václav Smetáček. Just imagine what the garden walls have heard and experienced throughout these years! Seven beautiful sunlit happenings with hits of classical and film music; audiences across generations and nations singing and dancing; but also, a rather sorrowful concert just for the TV cameras, as well as an early evening event heavily sprinkled with rain, when the radars monitoring the cloud movements controlled the music. No matter what, we like to return to this magical place each year, where the Sala terrena provides such a unique, yet natural orchestral background. We will return at the beginning of the 88th season, with the orchestra conducted for the first time by conductor and presenter Marko Ivanović.

The concert is held in cooperation with the Senate of the Parliament of the Czech Republic.

More information: