Two pieces for piano trio and string orchestra performed by PKF – Prague Philharmonia

Right after his debut with the San Francisco Symphony, Jakub Hrůša, former chief conductor of the PKF – Prague Philharmonia, returns to his orchestra on Sunday 22nd. The program at the Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum will offer works by Ludwig van Beethoven, Bohuslav Martinů and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

Dvořák trio (Ivo Kahánek – piano, Jan Fišer – violin, Tomáš Jamník – violoncello), winner of the Bohuslav Martinů Foundation Interpretation Competition, will carry out two pieces by Bohuslav Martinů (Concerto for Piano Trio and String Orchestra, H 231 and Concertino for Piano Trio and String Orchestra, H 232) which are rarely performed during one evening. These works were created in the same year with interesting cause.

"The first piece was composed by Martinů in the same year as the second one. The Concerto was sent back to him by the Schott publishing house for revision. Martinů put down the composition and wrote a completely new piece - Concertino, which was then accepted without objections," says Jakub Hrůša. "It will be extremely interesting to compare these two works composed in the same year with the same intent and to reflect on the composer's impulses to transform the same concept in such a short time. Was the publisher right?"

22 October 2017, 7.30 pm
Dvořák Hall, Rudolfinum, Prague
Bohuslav MARTINŮ: Concerto for Piano Trio and String Orchestra, H 231
Bohuslav MARTINŮ: Concertino for Piano Trio and String Orchestra, H 232

Ludwig van BEETHOVEN: Overture to Fidelio
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN: Aria of Marzellina „O, wär' ich schon mit dir vereint“
Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART: „Bella mia fiamma, addio“ KV 528
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN: Leonora III, overture

PKF - Prague Philharmonia, Jakub Hrůša (conductor), Kateřina Kněžíková (soprano), Dvořák trio

More information: